New judges, new location, new day – nominations open for the 2017 GLOBE Community Awards

Nominations have opened for the 4th annual GLOBE Community Awards – which this year will be held on Saturday 28 October 2017.

Run by the Gay and Lesbian Organisation of Business and Enterprise (GLOBE), the awards celebrate the inspiring work within Victoria’s lesbian, gay, bisexual and intersex communities.

Supported by the Victorian Government and a range of sponsors including ANZ and VicHealth, the awards have become a strong beacon in Victoria’s LGBTI communities to recognize the inspiring work and devotion that organisations and individuals put into supporting their community.

Last year, the major award was taken out by transgender teen Georgie Stone, who continues to champion the rights of transgender youth by lobbying for legislative reform to gain access to appropriate and timely treatments.

President of GLOBE, David Micallef says they expect a strong calibre of nominations this year. “I am continually amazed by the level of work, the dedication and the support that individuals and organisations place into the LGBTI community.

“This is what makes Victoria the best place to be if you identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex, or are an ally of our communities.”

This year, the GLOBE Community Awards will be making a number of changes, including moving from their previous home to the new Glasshouse events space at Olympic Park.

“Myer Mural Hall has been a great home for us for the last three years, but we have now outgrown the size of the venue – which is testament to the success of the awards. The new venue, will help us make sure that everyone who wants to be a part of the event, can be.”

Farrah Tomazin, Peter HItchener, Lady Mayoress Emma Page-Campbell and David Hannam will be returning to judge nominations, and will be welcoming two new judges: Elisabeth Tuckey, CEO of youth homelessness organization Ladder, and 2016 GLOBE Community Awards winner Georgie Stone.

Nominations for the awards will close on 13 August 2017.

Organisations and individuals are encouraged to apply for the awards under ten categories In 2017, awards will be given in the following categories:

  • • A healthy community
  • • Connecting the LGBTI community
  • • ANZ Excellence in business
  • • Protecting our community
  • • Media excellence
  • • Artist of the year
  • • Straight ally of the year
  • • Volunteer of the year
  • • John Marriott Sports person of the year
  • • The GLOBE LGBTI Person of the Year

For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s